United Kingdom Cabinet Rejects Theresa May’s Most Recent Brexit Deal


In June 2016, citizens of the United Kingdom voted on the United Kingdom European Union membership referendum, more commonly known as the Brexit referendum. The world was largely surprised to learn that Brits passed the referendum by a margin of 1.9 percent, meaning the majority of residents of the United Kingdom wanted the U.K. to secede from the European Union.

Just yesterday, the Brexit resolution pushed forward by British Prime Minister Theresa May was halted by a vote of 432 to 202. Ms. May has fought tooth and nail to sort out the country’s plans to leave the European Union throughout the past three years. Her long-maintained failure to resolve the impending consummation of Brexit could soon result in a general election being held to replace her.

The crushing defeat was the most substantial legislative rejection in the history of the United Kingdom. Prime Minister May had delayed the original vote’s scheduled date in December 2018 in the name of campaigning for more votes from Members of Parliament (MP).

The government of the United Kingdom requires the national legislature to work in conjunction with it on a consistent basis. If the cabinet fails to retain the majority of MPs’ support, the opposition party can push forth a vote of no confidence. Jeremy Corbyn, leader of the Labour Party, the current opposition party in the United Kingdom’s Parliament, tabled a vote of no confidence yesterday.

If a deal isn’t agreed upon by March 29, Britain will formally leave the European Union. Theresa May’s plan featured Britain successfully leaving the European Union on March 29, 2019, after which an interim period of transition lasting 21 months would exist for the European Union and the United Kingdom to agree on terms of a free trade deal.

Theresa May is a member of the country’s Conservative Party, which is made up of 317 MPs. Yesterday, roughly 120 Members of Parliament voted against the Brexit deal that May proposed. The Labour Party consists of 256 representatives, three of which voted in favor of the Prime Minister’s proposal. Those three representatives, whose party opposes the Conservative Party that Theresa May is a member of, were Ian Austin, John Mann, and Kevin Barron.

Based on the history of the United Kingdom, whopping defeats of the caliber of yesterday’s loss warrant a resignation of the nation’s Prime Minister. However, May chose to remain in office due to the Brexit deadline being so close.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here